Chesapeake Marine Tours
City Dock at the foot of Main Street
A variety of cruises are offered, weather permitting, aboard one of five vessels.
Day on the Bay Cruise
A 7.5 hour tour on the Annapolis II, passes local landmarks including the Naval Academy, a Victorian lighthouse and the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum across the bay in the restored fishing village of St. Michaels. There is a 3 hour stop for lunch and sightseeing.
Annapolis Harbor Tour
A 40 minute cruise of Annapolis Harbor and the Severn River.
Spa Creek Tour
A 40 minute cruise of Annapolis harbor, past the US Naval Academy, and the residential areas of Spa Creek.
90 Minute Cruises
Tour the Severn River, Chesapeake Bay bridges, or Thomas Point Lighthouse.
Discover Annapolis Tours
26 West Street
Daily: April-Nov.; Rest of the year: Sat., Sun.
Telephone for departure hours
Closed Jan. 1, Thanksgiving Day, and Dec. 25.
A one hour narrated bus tour which introduces passengers to three centuries of local history, architecture, folklore, etc. The tours pass through residential areas, the waterfront, a section of the US Naval Academy, and around the State House and the governor’s house.
two blocks west of the State House at 19 Maryland Ave, off King George Street
Mon–Sat 10–4, Sun noon–4. Closed Jan 1, Thanksgiving, and Dec 25
Built in 1774, this house is one of the finest examples of Georgian architecture in the United States. The warm redbrick Palladian villa, which consists of two symmetrical wings connected by a central hall, was built in 1774 to the designs of William Buckland. It is an outstanding example of the Maryland five-part plan that connects the central main section of the house by hyphens to semioctagonal wings. Famous for its center doorway of tall Ionic columns, the interior is a showcase of decorative arts and paintings, as well as ornamentation and wood carvings. The house is named for its original owners: Mathias Hammond, a Maryland member of the Provincial Assembly, and the Harwood family, who owned the house before it became a museum. A photo exhibit documents various aspects of the house from the 1920s to the present.
Helen Avalynne Tawes Garden
580 Taylor Street at the Tawes State Office Building across from Navy Stadium
Access on weekdays is through the State Office Building. Holiday access is between the Court of Appeals and the Department of Natural Resources buildings.
Guided tours by reservation. A booklet is available for self-guided tours.
A five acre, barrier free botanical garden featuring representations of the state’s natural environmental communities, from the forested mountains of western Maryland to the sand dunes of the Eastern Shore. Shallow ponds support wildlife such as bullfrogs, ducks, fish, songbirds, and turtles.
Maryland State House
Mon-Fri 9-5, Sat-Sun 10-4; tours daily 11am and 3pm
Closed Jan 1, Thanksgiving, and Dec 25
Located in the center of Annapolis, this is the oldest U.S. capitol in continuous legislative use. It was built between 1772 and 1779. The building also served as the U.S. capitol from November 26, 1783, to August 13, 1784. Inside the Old Senate Chamber, George Washington resigned his commission as commander-in-chief of the Continental armies at the end of the Revolutionary War. This was also the place in which the Treaty of Paris was signed in which England acknowledged the independence of their former colonies in this country.
The dome of the building is made of cypress beams and is held together by wooden pegs. The State House contains exhibits that depict life in Annapolis in colonial times. There are free 30-minute guided tours at 11am and 3pm that emanate from the visitor center on the first floor.
Also on the grounds of the State House is the cottage-sized Old Treasury Building, built in 1735 to hold colonial Maryland’s currency reserves.